What’s the deal with IKEA?

I don’t like IKEA.

There, I’ve said it. Let the rotten cabbage throwing begin.

It’s over-priced, under-whelming and boring. B.O.R.I.N.G.

You can literally go for 5 years without visiting and when you return, everything is in the same place with nothing new at all. I like change. Well, actually, that’s not strictly true, but I’d like change in IKEA. Yes, I agree there is a certain charm to knowing exactly what you are going to get, but come on IKEA, freshen yourselves up a bit.

So, patrolling the never-ending warren that is IKEA, diligently (and with total concentration) following the direction arrows (and panicking when your realise you are going the wrong way), what do we see? Ah, yes. Wooden furniture. In a box. More wooden furniture, also in a box. And some pretty home-furnishings. IKEA in a nutshell.

But it’s not just Swedes that go mad for IKEA. Afterall, you would imagine that it fits their taste (boring and predictable. Did I just say that out-loud?) but, what’s with the rest of the world’s obsession? Is it the thought of something exotic from Sweden (wow, exotic and Sweden in the same sentence – who’d have thought?). I just don’t know.

Yes, admittedly the quality is good – we’ve had furniture from IKEA that has lasted for years. But, I want to look at an item in a shop, point to it, take it home, display it. I do not want an irate, sweaty Swede banging his hammer around with increasing fury because he can’t figure out the instructions. For hours.

Also, the pronunciation of the Mecca for all things flat-packed should be:

I (as in igloo) – kayah. Some kind of inverted Swedish snobbery comes over me when I hear Brits say it and I am just forced to correct them, in a clever-arse kind of way.

Anyway, guess where we are going on Sunday? Yeah, I know. But we need a new bed and where else would we go πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “What’s the deal with IKEA?

  1. I aint going to throw no cabbage haha
    however i disagree with IKEA being the same, in sweden, many people change the interior (wether that be rugs/curtains/duvet covers) and IKEA does change that and fits in with the swedish lifestyle perfectly. And as far as the boring comes, well then swedish people are not OTT. theyre minimalist that love plain, simple and modern things haha!
    Anyhoo thats just my view (and yep im swedish ahah)
    it was quite fun to read your blog though as i have never come across anyone to really dislike IKEA
    I am a swedish fashion student in london and would love it if you could check out my fashion blog! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

