Where Does the Time Go To?

20150404_113225

Every time I check back in here, at least one season has bypassed me. Shortly, we will have been back in Sweden for two whole years, and it has seriously passed with a blink of an eye.

Since I last checked in, life has been particularly busy. I have decided to go back to school to study Swedish further (I would love to follow my dream and become a translator, so we’ll see). I have to say that it has done me the world of good – I love getting out and mixing with new people again, and I love the buzz learning a new language gives me. For those of you that have been through the SFI system, I am at the top level of D, so in a couple of weeks I will be able to take my test and move onto “grundlaggande” Swedish (which for those of you not in the know, is primary school Swedish – I rock! 🙂 )

I have also started my own food blog – absolutely LOVE that, too! Please feel free to check me out over at The Culinary Jumble – there are a couple of Swedish kladdkakas on there, if anyone is interested in trying one of Sweden’s most popular desserts!

I have also managed to connect with loads of ex-pats living in Skåne – you wouldn’t believe how many are floating around these parts! In my tiny village there are several of us, and further afield, Americans, Brits and Aussies just seem everywhere! Most of us are half of a Swedish couple, although there are several that have moved as a family to work in one of the many multi-national companies in the region. I can’t tell you how lovely it is to speak to someone in a language that is your mother-tongue. Even if I get to be totally fluent in Swedish, I doubt I will ever be able to express myself the way I do in English. If you live in Skåne, or know anyone who does, send them over to my Facebook page.

On a more personal note, there have been a couple of monumental changes to our life. Firstly, our ten year old has finally been diagnosed with Aspergers – we’ve always known he was a little quirky, but until moving to Sweden we just put that down to him being him. Now that we officially know what we are dealing with, it is so blindingly obvious – he has such classic Aspergers/autistic traits, especially when he is tired or worried. My partner has also been diagnosed with depression, and so life has not been the easiest these past few months. To cap it off, my sister in law was admitted to hospital today at 36 weeks pregnant after her waters broke. It doesn’t rain, but it pours, eh?

Still, as tough as it is, you have to keep going. Keep putting one foot in front of the next. The sun is beginning to shine, the flowers are blooming and we have to stay optimistic. We have to!

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

